Fire is divided into five classes (A, B, C, D, and K) that are primarily based on the fuel that is burning. This classification system helps to assess hazards and determine the most effective type of extinguishing agent.

Class A Fires

involve common combustibles such as wood, paper, cloth, rubber, trash and plastics.

Class B Fires

involve flammable liquids, solvents, oil, gasoline, paints, lacquers and other oil-based products.

Class C Fires

involve energized electrical equipment such as wiring, controls, motors, machinery, or appliances.

Class D Fires

involve combustible metals such as magnesium, lithium and titanium.

Class K Fires

involve combustible cooking media such as oils and grease commonly found in commercial kitchens

Shop Fire Extinguishers


Back to Support Center